THE COMMON GROUND AWARDS are presented annually to honor outstanding accomplishments in conflict resolution, negotiation, community building, and peacebuilding. Recipients have made significant contributions toward bridging divides between people, finding solutions to seemingly intractable problems, and providing inspiration and hope where often there was none. Whether Awards recipients work internationally or in their local communities, the work they do to create peace and stability has the same ripple effect.

Digital Journal Photo Gallery

Watch the Awardees' Acceptance Speeches

Daniel Lubetzky

Fatima Benoughazi

Arno Michaelis and Pardeep Kaleka

Boniface Mudenge

Sylvie Mutwambaka Mirindi

2017 Host Committee

Host Committee Chair

Host Committee Members

Eric and Beth Berman
Lesly Black
Kim and Richard Chirls
Gordon Clark and Hugh Graham
Gary DiBianco and Sczerina Perot
Abigail E. Disney
Tim and Anna May Feige
Jeremy and Jenna Goldberg
Kathryn Grody and Mandy Patinkin
Naomi Kay
Tom and Elizabeth Manley
Cathrine Steck
Randy Wright
Board of Directors

Event Logistics


Thursday, November 30, 2017.


6:00 Cocktails & Hor d’oeuvres
7:00 Dinner & Program.


The Pierre, New York City
2 E 61st Street New York USA 10065.
The iconic hotel is on the corner of Central Park and the Upper East Side, with LaGuardia Airport just 20 minutes away.


  • Valet parking facility
  • Subway Station:
    • 5 AV Subway Station (N, R, W) — 0.2 mi
    • Lexington Av-63 Street Station (F, Q) — 0.3 mi
    • Lexington Ave/ 59 St (N, R, W) — 0.3 mi
  • Train Station:
    • Grand Central Station — 1.1 miles SE

Dress Code

Business attire.

Every year Search for Common Ground honors outstanding accomplishments in conflict resolution and peacebuilding. Recipients have made significant contributions toward building bridges across the conflicts that divide us. Notable Awardees include President Jimmy Carter, Muhammad Ali, The Freedom Riders and Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

2017 Common Ground Award Recipients will be announced in September.