2004 European Common Ground Awards

The 2004 European Common Ground Awards were held at Palais d’Egmont on September 9 in Brussels, Belgium. 

The Common Ground Awards are presented annually to honor outstanding accomplishments in conflict resolution, negotiation, community building, and peacebuilding. Recipients have made significant contributions toward bridging divides between people and finding solutions to seemingly intractable problems. We honor groups or individuals who have dealt with conflicts in new ways, who have met crises with creativity, wisdom and courage, and who can inspire and bring hope to others.

Award recipients work internationally or in their local communities. How they deal with the challenges of conflict varies. Yet they all show us our best selves and what can be achieved when we work with, and for, each other.

September 9, 2004
Palais d’Egmont
Brussels, Belgium

Hosted by Belgian Foreign Minister, Karel de Gucht

Awardees included:

The late Macedonian President, Boris Trajkovski, whose wife, Vilma Trajkovska will accept this posthumous award in recognition of her husband’s efforts at bringing peace and reconciliation to his war-torn country.

The European Common Ground Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Werner Lottje, a German visionary lawyer and human rights activist. He has spent his career supporting and advising European institutions in the area of human rights and conflict transformation.

The European Common Ground Reconciliation through the Arts Award goes to Moussia Haulot, for a Belgian initiative called ‘Tambours pour la Paix’ or ‘Drums for Peace’. The initiative encourages children to write poetry to express their dreams for the future and involves them in the struggle against violence in the world.

The European Common Ground Community Peacebuilding Award goes to Don Piero Gallo, an Italian parish priest who has worked tirelessly to relieve tensions between the Italian community and the migrant community in his multi-ethnic parish.